Online Boxing Storage

Buy Boxing Equipments and Accessories from Pro Boxing Gear and save 15% with free shipping.

May 10, 2010

Suresh Raina to lead India in Zimbabwe Tri-Series

Senior players were rested as India named a 2nd-string squad with Suresh Raina as the skipper and Virat Kohli his Vice-captain for the low-profile Zimbabwe tour starting 28th May 2010.

Regular Skipper Mahendra Singh Dhoni and senior players Sachin Tendulkar, Harbhajan Singh, Zaheer Khan, Gautam Gambhir, Sehwag, Yuvraj Singh & Ashish Nehra were rested as the BCCI senior selection committee named a young 15-member team with new faces galore.

Stumper Dinesh Karthik has been named the specialist wicketkeeper for the tour which begins with a tri-series - also involving Sri Lanka - on May 28 while Madhya Pradesh batsman-wicketkeeper Naman Ojha is also part of the team.

Once the tri-series is over on June 9, spinner Piyush Chawla will join the team for India's subsequent two T20 Internationals against Zimbabwe on June 12 and 13.

Apart from Karthik and Naman Ojha, the side includes specialist opening batsmen Murali Vijay, Raina, Kohli and Rohit Sharma, besides all-rounders in Yusuf Pathan and Ravindra Jadeja.

Leg-spinner Amit Mishra, left-arm spinner Pragyan Ojha and off-spinner Ravichandran Ashwin will spearhead the slow bowling department in the tri-series, while the largely inexperienced pace assail will comprise Umesh Yadav, R Vinay Kumar, Ashok Dinda and Pankaj Singh.

Zimbabwe Tri-series squad: Suresh Raina (C), Virat Kohli (v-c), Murali Vijay, Dinesh Karthik (wk), Rohit Sharma, Yusuf Pathan, Ravindra Jadeja, R Ashwin, Umesh Yadav, Vinay Kumar, Ashok Dinda, Pankaj Singh, Amit Mishra, Pragyan Ojha, Naman Ojha.

No comments: