Online Boxing Storage

Buy Boxing Equipments and Accessories from Pro Boxing Gear and save 15% with free shipping.

Jan 24, 2012

Dilshan steps down as SL captain

Sri Lankan skipper Tillakaratne Dilshan has has decided to resign from his post as the skipper of the Sri Lankan team. The announcement was made through a press release by Sri Lanka Cricket.

"Dilshan sent his resignation from the captaincy of the national team to Sri Lanka Cricket a short while ago," SLC said in a text message alert to its subscribers.

Dilshan was made the captain after the World Cup 2011, during which Kumar Sangakkara led the team. Dilshan's last series in charge was the tour to South Africa where his team lost the Test series 2-1 and the ODI series 3-2. Dilshan also led SL to England and in a home series against Australia but failed to win those too.

Captaincy saw the dashing right-hander's form dip by a large margin and there were numerous calls to remove him from the post. One of the high points was surely leading Sri Lanka to their first Test win since the retirement of spin legend Muttiah Muralitharan and their first ever Test win in South Africa.

Sports Minister Mahindananda Aluthgamage confirmed that middle order stalwart, Mahela Jayawardene will be the new captain while Angelo Mathews will be his deputy.

Mahela Jayawardene, who led Sri Lanka to the 2007 World Cup runners-up spot, will be the captain for all three formats of the game.

The selectors also announced the squad for the tri-nation series in Australia also involving India. Farvez Maharoof has made a comeback into the squad along with left arm pacer Chanaka Walegedara. They replace the out of sorts Dilhara Fernando and Kosala Kulasekara. Maharoof last featured in the Sri lankan line-up against India in August, 2010.

Team: Mahela Jayawardene (captain), Angelo Mathews, Upul Tharanga, Tillakaratne Dilshan, Kumar Sangakkara, Dinesh Chandimal, Lahiru Thirimanne, Thisara Perera, Farveez Maharoof, Rangana Herath, Sachithra Senanayake, Lasith Malinga, Nuwan Kulasekera, Chanaka Welegedera, Dhammika Prasad.

No comments: