Online Boxing Storage

Buy Boxing Equipments and Accessories from Pro Boxing Gear and save 15% with free shipping.

Sep 26, 2011

Akhtar controversial book launch cancelled

The programmed release of Shoiab Akhtar's controversial book here tomorrow has suddenly been cancelled without any reason being given.

Former India captain Dilip Vengsarkar was to release Shoiab Akhtar's autobiography 'Controversially Yours' at the Cricket Club of India (CCI) premises.

"The event has been cancelled," confirmed a CCI official, without transferring any reason.

According to sources, the event was cancelled due to unexpected conditions.

The sudden cancellation generated speculation that it may be because of the less than flattering remarks about Indian batsman Sachin Tendulkar and Rahul Dravid.

In his tell-all autobiography, Akhtar has made many controversial claims including one where he says that the Indian batsman Tendulkar did not have the ability to finish matches in the initial stages of his career.

Meanwhile, a protest was held in suburban Dahisar today against Akhtar, for his comments on Tendulkar. Protesters carried Akthar's posters on donkey-backs.

On Monday, Akhtar is scheduled to attend another function to promote his book in the city.

England in India 2011, ODI Series Schedule

DateMatch DetailsTime (IST)Place
Oct 14 - Fr India v England, 1st ODI14:30Hyderabad
Oct 17 - Mo India v England, 2nd ODI14:30Delhi
Oct 20 - Th India v England, 3rd ODI14:30Chandigarh
Oct 23 - Su India v England, 4th ODI14:30Mumbai
Oct 26 - We India v England, 5th ODI14:30Kolkata
Oct 29 - Sa India v England, Only T20I20:00Kolkata

Sep 12, 2011

MS Dhoni chosen to lead ICC World ODI XI

Following their successful WC triumph, as many as four Indians have found a place in the annual ODI XI announced by the ICC here on Monday.

MS Dhoni has been bestowed with the honour of being nominated as the skipper of the team and he has been joined by fellow team-mates Virender Sehwag, Zaheer Khan and Yuvraj Singh.

MS DhoniThe team comprises of two players each from Sri Lanka and South Africa and a player each from Pakistan, Australia and England.

Sri Lankan captain Tillakaratne Dilshan has been nominated as the fellow opener with Virender Sehwag while the middle order consists of stalwarts like Kumar Sangakkara, AB de Villiers, Shane Watson and Yuvraj Singh with the keeper being Dhoni. Graeme Swann is the lone spinner in the side while the pace department includes Zaheer Khan, Umar Gul and Dale Steyn. Sri Lankan pace sensation Lasith Malinga has been nominated as the 12th man.

Chairman of the LG ICC Awards selection panel, Lloyd said: "This has been an outstanding year for 50-over cricket. I think everyone saw in the ICC Cricket World Cup 2011 how exciting this format can be.

"The ICC Cricket World Cup was rightly applauded as one of the greatest in history and no one who was in Mumbai will forget that remarkable evening.

"The ODI team of the year reflects the success of India with four players selected - Virender Sehwag, Yuvraj Singh, M S Dhoni and Zaheer Khan. Yuvraj was, of course, the player of the tournament and MS Dhoni, the man-of-the-match in the final, whilst fellow finalists Sri Lanka has three players in the side."

Lloyd was joined on the panel by former Pakistan captain Zaheer Abbas, former England captain Mike Gatting, former New Zealand bowler Danny Morrison and former South African bowler Paul Adams.

ICC ODI Team of the Year
  • Tillakaratne Dilshan (Sri Lanka)
  • Virender Sehwag (India)
  • Kumar Sangakkara (Sri Lanka)
  • AB de Villiers (South Africa)
  • Shane Watson (Australia)
  • Yuvraj Singh (India)
  • MS Dhoni (India, wicketkeeper & captain)
  • Graeme Swann (England)
  • Umar Gul (Pakistan)
  • Dale Steyn (South Africa)
  • Zaheer Khan (India)
12th Man - Lasith Malinga (Sri Lanka)

Sep 7, 2011

England continued their unbeaten run against India

England won by seven wickets against India in the rain-hit second One-day International of the NatWest series at the Rose Bowl here Tuesday.

The match had been reduced to 23 overs a side after a delayed start due to rain.

Put to bat first, India scored 187 for eight with the help of Ajinkya Rahane.

Rahane's 54 and Suresh Raina's blistering 40 off 19 balls.

But England skipper Alastair Cook-led England reached the target of 188 in 22.1 overs.

Cook led the run-chase with 80 off 63 balls.

The first ODI had been called off due to rain.

England lead the ODI series 1-0 after winning the second ODI.

Sep 5, 2011

Manoj Tiwary to replace injured Rohit Sharma

Manoj Tiwary has been called up to replace the injured Rohit Sharma for the remainder of the ODI series against England. Rohit Sharma was ruled out of the series after being struck on his hand by a Stuart Broad delivery resulting in a fracture.

Tiwary has played only three ODIs for India thus far, making his debut in 2008 against Australia. He was included in the squad for the ODI series in the West Indies recently and he played 2 matches notching up a top score of 22.

Tiwary represented the Kolkata Knight Riders in the IPL last year and was one of their top performers.

India are already struggling without many key players in the squad, but the form shown by newbie, Ajinkya Rahane would have given the troubled visitors some hope and they will hope Tiwary can do the same for India.