Online Boxing Storage

Buy Boxing Equipments and Accessories from Pro Boxing Gear and save 15% with free shipping.

Sep 12, 2011

MS Dhoni chosen to lead ICC World ODI XI

Following their successful WC triumph, as many as four Indians have found a place in the annual ODI XI announced by the ICC here on Monday.

MS Dhoni has been bestowed with the honour of being nominated as the skipper of the team and he has been joined by fellow team-mates Virender Sehwag, Zaheer Khan and Yuvraj Singh.

MS DhoniThe team comprises of two players each from Sri Lanka and South Africa and a player each from Pakistan, Australia and England.

Sri Lankan captain Tillakaratne Dilshan has been nominated as the fellow opener with Virender Sehwag while the middle order consists of stalwarts like Kumar Sangakkara, AB de Villiers, Shane Watson and Yuvraj Singh with the keeper being Dhoni. Graeme Swann is the lone spinner in the side while the pace department includes Zaheer Khan, Umar Gul and Dale Steyn. Sri Lankan pace sensation Lasith Malinga has been nominated as the 12th man.

Chairman of the LG ICC Awards selection panel, Lloyd said: "This has been an outstanding year for 50-over cricket. I think everyone saw in the ICC Cricket World Cup 2011 how exciting this format can be.

"The ICC Cricket World Cup was rightly applauded as one of the greatest in history and no one who was in Mumbai will forget that remarkable evening.

"The ODI team of the year reflects the success of India with four players selected - Virender Sehwag, Yuvraj Singh, M S Dhoni and Zaheer Khan. Yuvraj was, of course, the player of the tournament and MS Dhoni, the man-of-the-match in the final, whilst fellow finalists Sri Lanka has three players in the side."

Lloyd was joined on the panel by former Pakistan captain Zaheer Abbas, former England captain Mike Gatting, former New Zealand bowler Danny Morrison and former South African bowler Paul Adams.

ICC ODI Team of the Year
  • Tillakaratne Dilshan (Sri Lanka)
  • Virender Sehwag (India)
  • Kumar Sangakkara (Sri Lanka)
  • AB de Villiers (South Africa)
  • Shane Watson (Australia)
  • Yuvraj Singh (India)
  • MS Dhoni (India, wicketkeeper & captain)
  • Graeme Swann (England)
  • Umar Gul (Pakistan)
  • Dale Steyn (South Africa)
  • Zaheer Khan (India)
12th Man - Lasith Malinga (Sri Lanka)

No comments: