Online Boxing Storage

Buy Boxing Equipments and Accessories from Pro Boxing Gear and save 15% with free shipping.

Aug 8, 2011

Dravid recalled for T20 and ODI series against England

Rahul Dravid on Saturday earned a surprise recall to shore up India's struggling batting line-up while an off-colour Harbhajan Singh was dropped from the 16-member squad for the T20 and one-day cricket series against England beginning August 31.

Rahul DravidRahul Dravid, the lone batsman who has been steady with two back-to-back centuries in the ongoing 4-match Test series, makes his way into the ODI fold after a gap of almost two years to provide stability to a brittle line-up struggling in the seaming English conditions.

Harbhajan Singh, who has been ruled out of the Test series because of an abdominal strain and has been been woefully out of form in recent times, was expectedly not considered for the ODIs along with another star injured player Yuvraj Singh, nursing a broken left index finger.

Karnataka paceman Vinay Kumar and wicketkeeper-batsman Parthiv Patel were recalled into the 16-member squad announced by the BCCI secretary N Srinivasan after a meeting of the selection committee.

"Zaheer Khan is suffering from a recurrent right hamstring strain and a right ankle impingement. He will require a surgery for his ankle, followed by intensive rehabilitation for both the ankle and hamstring. He will need at least 14-16 weeks to recover completely. He will therefore not be able to participate in the ongoing Test series and subsequent Twenty20 International and ODI series against England," the BCCI said in a statement.

His loss has been RP Singh's gain as the pacer from Uttar Pradesh makes a comeback nearly after 3 years. He last played a Test match in April 2008 and an ODI in September 2009.

Paceman S Sreesanth, left-arm spinner Pragyan Ojha and all-rounder Yusuf Pathan also failed to find favour with the five-man selection panel.

Team Squad: Mahendra Singh Dhoni (captain), Virender Sehwag (vice-captain), Gautam Gambhir, Rahul Dravid, Sachin Tendulkar, Virat Kohli, Suresh raina, Rohit Sharma, RP Singh, R Ashwin, Praveen Kumar, Munaf Patel, Ishant Sharma, Vinay Kumar, Amit Mishra, Parthiv Patel.

No comments: