Online Boxing Storage

Buy Boxing Equipments and Accessories from Pro Boxing Gear and save 15% with free shipping.

Jun 17, 2010

Asia Cup: India won Bangladesh with a bonus point

Bangladesh Skipper Shakib Al Hasan won the toss and elected to bat first in the Asia Cup one-day international against India at the Rangiri stadium on Wednesday.

Bangladesh got off to a quick start with Tamim Iqbal (22) and Imrul Kayes (37) producing 35 runs in 17 balls. But once Tamim rotting to a low catch by Suresh Raina at short extra covers off Praveen Kumar, they just could not force the pace against a disciplined Indian attack.

Zaheer Khan bowled with energy and zip while moving the ball disconcertingly to the bewilderment of Kayes and Mohammad Ashraful (20).

Zaheer Khan conceded 16 runs in his 1st over but had the batsmen in mark the rest of his five-over spell.

Nehra get two wickets in four overs before he limped off the field after four overs. interestingly, there was no clarification from the Indian team management about Nehra's fitness.

Harbhajan and Jadeja too bowled extraordinarily in conditions that suited them but it was part-time tweaker Sehwag who stole the bowling honours.

Virender Sehwag emerged as India's unlikely bowling hero with his 1st four-wicket haul, while his Delhi teammate Gautam Gambhir (82) struck his 20th ODI fifty as India cruised to a facile win at a strikingly empty in Dambulla.

Having skittled out Bangladesh for a meagre 167 inside 35 overs, India had a modest total to chase and they overwhelmed the target with 19.2 overs to spare to collect a bonus point from this resounding victory.

Match Summary:

Ban 167 allout 34.5 over

Imrul Kayes 37
Mushfiqur Rahim 30

V. Sehwag 4/6
A. Nehra 2/28
Ind 168/4 30.4 over

G. Gambhir 82
MS Dhoni 38*

M. Mortaza 2/37
S. Hasan 2/49

Man of the Match: Gautam Gambhir

Asia Cup 2010, Schedule

Jun 16, 2010

Asia Cup: Sri lanka won Pakistan by 16 runs

Lasith Malinga get 5 wickets as defending champions Sri Lanka stunned Pakistan by 16 runs in the opening match of the Asia Cup.

Shahid AfridiSkipper Shahid Afridi's 1st ODI century in last five years was in vain as Sri Lanka, restricted to 242-9, bowled out Pakistan for 226 in 47 overs.

The Pakistan skipper, who came in to bat with his side under pressure at 32-4, smashed 109 off 76 balls to leave the team needing just 38 runs off the last 56 balls with four wickets in hand.

Afridi, obviously uncomfortable at the crease due to leg cramps, was caught behind off Muttiah Muralitharan, triggering a dramatic collapse.

Malinga bowled Mohammad Aamer, had Shoaib Akhtar caught at mid-off and then yorked last man Mohammad Asif to finish with his best ODI figures.

Afridi hits eight fours and 7 sixes in his 5th ODI hundred, the first since making 102 versus India at Kanpur on April 15, 2005.

Shoaib AkhtarEarlier, fast bowler Shoaib Akhtar made an impressive come back to international cricket with 3-41 from 10 overs in his first game for Pakistan since May last year after recovering from a knee injury.

Sri Lanka slipped to 36-2 by the ninth over, before Captain Kumar Sangakkara (42) and Mahela Jayawardene (54) put on 83 for the 3rd wicket.

All-rounder Angelo Mathews hits an unbeaten 55 off 61 balls to help the defending champions set a challenging target under lights after they were reduced to 168-7 by the 37th over.

Match Summary

Sri Lanka won the toss and elected to bat first

Sri: 242/9 50 Over

Mathews 55
Jayawardene 54

Akhtar 3/41
Aamer 2/57

Pak: 226 all out 47 Over

Afridi 109
U Akmal 30

Malinga 5/34

Man of the Match: Shahid Afridi

Asia Cup 2010, Schedule

Jun 7, 2010

Sachin rested, Yuvraj dropped & Saurabh Tiwary surprise picks

Star batsman Sachin Tendulkar will not be picking India's Asia Cup squad, after it was reported that he requested the BCCI not to consider him for the tournament.

The other main announcement was the axing of Yuvraj Singh from the ODI squad. Yuvraj has displayed unresponsive form and deprived fitness levels in the recent past.

The team will be led by Mahendra Singh Dhoni, who returns to take charge of the team.

Meanwhile, what will bring shout approval to the Indian fans is the return of Virender Sehwag, who has improved from his shoulder injury and forms part of the team.

Also returning were Gautam Gambhir, Harbhajan Singh, Praveen Kumar, Zaheer Khan and Ashish Nehra.

Amongst the surprise picks were Saurabh Tiwary & Ashok Dinda. While this the first time Saurabh Tiwary has been picked, Ashok Dinda retained his place after being a part of the outfit that performed poorly in Zimbabwe. Dinesh Karthik and Yusuf Pathan are amongst the high profile names dropped from the side that went to Zimbabwe. Also axed was Murali Vijay who had a torrid outing, and Amit Mishra.

Ashwin however retained his place after his good showing in the last match he played, along with Pragyan Ojha who had looked like the best spinner on view. They will partner Harbhajan in the spin department.

Squad: MS Dhoni (captain & wk), Virender Sehwag, Gautam Gambhir, Harbhajan Singh, Zaheer Khan, Ashish Nehra, Praveen Kumar, Virat Kohli, Suresh Raina, Rohit Sharma, Ravindra Jadeja, Pragyan Ojha, R Ashwin, Saurabh Tiwary, Ashok Dinda.

Jun 4, 2010

India, Sri Lanka and New Zealand Tri-Series 2010

DateMatch DetailsTime ISTPlace
Aug 10 - Tue
New Zealand v India
NZ won by 200 Runs
Aug 13 - Fri
New Zealand v Sri Lanka
SL won by 3 wickets
Aug 16 - MonIndia v Sri Lanka
IND won by 6 wickets
Aug 19 - Thu
New Zealand v Sri Lanka14:30Dambulla
Aug 22 - Sun
India v New Zealand14:30Dambulla
Aug 25 - WedIndia v Sri Lanka14:30Dambulla
Aug 28 - SatFinal14:30Dambulla

India in Sri Lanka Test Series 2010