Online Boxing Storage

Buy Boxing Equipments and Accessories from Pro Boxing Gear and save 15% with free shipping.

Oct 6, 2009

Australia won the ICC Champions Trtophy 2009

The Kangaroo’s made history again! Defending Champion Australia beat New Zealand in the final to win the ICC Champions Trophy 2009. Australia won the ICC Champions Trtophy 2008 too. The Aussies bounced back with a bang to reach the No. 1 of the ICC ODI Rankings, with their outstanding performance in Champions Trophy 2009. Shane Watson got a brilliant century in the final.

ICC Champions Trophy 2009Australia started the final as the favorite against the Kiwis, who missed their skipper Daniel Vettori because of an injury. New Zealand won the toss and selected to bat first. But Australian bowlers did not give them a chance to settle down.

New Zealand get just 200/9 in 50 overs. Guptill was the top scorer with 40, while Broom made 37. Franklin contributes 33. For Australia, Hauritz took 3 wickets. Brett Lee took 2 wickets.

Chasing a winning target of 201, Australia lost RickyPonting and Paine for just two runs on board. New Zealand began to smell victory, as Australia are 6/2 at one stage. However, Shane Watson and White changed the way of the game with a partnership of 128. White ended 62.

Australia reached 206/2 in 45.2 overs. Shane Watson hit his 4th ODI hundred and second successive century and remained unbeaten on 105. For New Zealand, Kyle Mills took 3 wickets. Australia became the only team to win ICC Champions Trophy twice.

Ricky Ponting won the "Golden Bat" award for scoring 288 runs in the tournament. South African bowler Wayne Parnell, who took 11 wickets in the tournament, got the "Golden Ball" award. For the first time, all members of winning team get a Champions Jacket each.
Man of the Match: Shane Watson Man of the Tournament: Ricky Ponting

No comments: