Online Boxing Storage

Buy Boxing Equipments and Accessories from Pro Boxing Gear and save 15% with free shipping.

Oct 2, 2009

ICC Awards 2009 has been announced

Australian Faster Mitchell Johnson has bagged the Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy after being named the ICC Cricketer of the Year, it was announced here on Thursday.

Mitchell JohnsonMitchell Johnson getting 80 wickets in 17 Tests, the highest by any Test bowler in the year 2009.

Indian Opening batsman Gautam Gambhir won the Test Player of the Year award, warding off competition from Johnson, Sri Lankan batsman Thilan Samaraweera and Andrew Strauss.

Indian Wicketkeeper-batsman MS Dhoni pipped compatriots Yuvraj Singh and Virender Sehwag, and Chanderpaul to bag the One-Day Player of the Year award.

Gautam GambhirSri Lankan batsman Tillakaratne Dilshan won the T20 International Performance of the Year award for his unbeaten 96 off 57 balls against the West Indies in the semi-final at the T20 World Championships 2009 in England.

Australian paceman Peter Siddle declared Emerging Player of the Year award.

New Zealand won the Spirit of Cricket award, presented to the team which, in the attitude of the ICC umpires and match referees and the 10 full member captains, has best performed itself on the field within the spirit of the game.

The awards were based on performances between Aug 13, 2008 and Aug 24, 2009.

Mahendra Singh DhoniThe selection panel was lead by West Indies legend Clive Lloyd, with former cricketers Anil Kumble of India, Bob Taylor of England, Pakistan's Mudassar Nazar and New Zealand Stephen Fleming being the other members.

The list of winners:

Cricketer of the Year: Mitchell Johnson

Test Player of the Year: Gautam Gambhir

ODI Player of the Year: MS Dhoni

Women's Cricketer of the Year: Claire Taylor

Emerging Player of the Year: Peter Siddle

Associate and Affiliate Player of the Year: William Porterfield

Twenty20 International Performance of the Year: Tillakaratne Dilshan

Spirit of Cricket: New Zealand

Umpire of the Year: Aleem Dar

World Test Team of the Year:

Gautam Gambhir India
Andrew Strauss England
AB de Villiers South Africa
Sachin Tendulkar India,
Thilan Samaraweera Sri Lanka,
Michael Clarke Australia,
MS Dhoni (capt & wk), India,
Shakib Al Hasan Bangladesh,
Mitchell Johnson Australia,
Stuart Broad England,
Dale Steyn South Africa.

12th Man: Harbhajan Singh India

World ODI Team of the Year:

Virender Sehwag India
Chris Gayle West Indies
Kevin Pietersen England,
Tillakaratne Dilshan Sri Lanka,
Yuvraj Singh India,
Martin Guptill New Zealand,
MS Dhoni (captain, WK) India,
Andrew Flintoff England,
Nuwan Kulasekara Sri Lanka,
Ajantha Mendis Sri Lanka,
Umar Gul Pakistan

12th man: Thilan Thushara Sri Lanka

No comments: